$curWeaInfo.name, $curWeaInfo.state
Current Conditions
0:$curWeaInfo.min AM $curWeaInfo.tz
Dew Point
$curWeaInfo.wdir at $curWeaInfo.wspd mph
$curWeaInfo.bar in. F
$curWeaInfo.visibility mi.
$dailyWea.get(0).sunrise a.m.
$dailyWea.get(0).sunset p.m.
7-Day Forecast
$dailyWea.get($m).high°F / $dailyWea.get($m).low°F
$dailyWea.get($m).high°F / $dailyWea.get($m).low°F
$dailyWea.get($m).high°F / $dailyWea.get($m).low°F
$dailyWea.get($m).high°F / $dailyWea.get($m).low°F
$dailyWea.get($m).high°F / $dailyWea.get($m).low°F
$dailyWea.get($m).high°F / $dailyWea.get($m).low°F
$dailyWea.get($m).high°F / $dailyWea.get($m).low°F
Detailed Short Term Forecast
Issued at 0:$curWeaInfo.min AM $curWeaInfo.tz

Wisconsin FFA members head to National Convention

Oct. 18, 2012 | 0 comments

A sea of blue will converge on Indianapolis next week, Oct. 24-27, for the National FFA Convention and Expo.

Over 55,000 FFA members from around the country are expected to attend. Of those, 177 Wisconsin FFA members will walk across the stage to receive the America FFA Degree, the highest degree an FFA member can earn.

Here's a run-down of students and chapters receiving or competing special honors.

McKenzie Baecker of the Cochrane-Fountain City FFA Chapter is representing Wisconsin as a National FFA Officer Candidate. The 2013 national officers will be announced on Saturday of the convention.

Ethan Giebel of the Mauston FFA, who served as the 2011-12 Wisconsin FFA president, is serving on the National FFA Officer Nominating Committee.

Serving as National FFA delegates are Becca Bagniewski of Cochrane-Fountain City FFA, Billy Marshall of Kickapoo FFA, Sara Odegard of Mondovi FFA and Thomas Gierok of Whitehall FFA.

Those competing in the National Agriscience Fair as national finalists in the animal systems division include Emily Herness, Whitehall FFA; Cora Demler, Pecatonica FFA; and the team of Seth Loudenbeck and Jack Barry, Big Foot FFA.

In the environmental services/natural resource systems division, national finalists include Dakota Turk, Big Foot FFA; Brittany Rambatt, Big Foot FFA; and the team of Jacob Pintens and Grandon Schiel, Barron FFA.

The team of David Pintens and Sarah Pintens, both of Barron FFA, are national finalists in the food products and processing systems division, and in the plant systems division, Camille Miles of Whitehall FFA and Serena Krause of Big Foot FFA are national finalists. In the power, structural and technical systems division, the team of Tony Gordon and Brandon Hilger of New Auburn FFA and the team of Dru Galetka and Blake Miller, all of New Auburn FFA, are national finalists.

In the Career Development Events, the following chapters and individuals will represent Wisconsin:

• Ag communications contest, Granton FFA;

• Ag issues, Big Foot FFA;

• Ag mechanics, Viroqua FFA;

• Ag sales, Hillsboro FFA;

• Agronomy, Lancaster FFA;

• Creed speaking, Ashley Zimmerman, Spencer FFA;

• Dairy cattle evaluation, Amery FFA;

• Dairy cattle handling, Jessica Pralle, Osseo-Fairchild FFA;

• Environmental sciences/natural resources, Waterford FFA;

• Extemporaneous speaking, Bethany Dado, Amery FFA;

• Farm business management, Mosinee FFA;

• Floriculture, Plymouth FFA;

• Food science and technology, Oconto Falls FFA;

• Forestry, Stanley-Boyd FFA;

• Horse evaluation, Iowa-Grant FFA;

• Job interview, Aaron Zimmerman, Spencer FFA;

• Marketing plan, Colby FFA;

• Meat evaluation, River Ridge FFA;

• Milk quality and products, Hillsboro FFA;

• Nursery/landscape, Oshkosh West FFA;

• Parliamentary procedure, Darlington FFA;

• Poultry, Brillion FFA;

• Prepared speaking, Hannah Piencikowski, Waupaca FFA; and

• Veterinary science, Cochrane-Fountain City FFA and Badger FFA.

Selected to compete in the National FFA Talent Contest are Oran Clay, Flambeau FFA; Kyle Lange, Fennimore FFA; Mercedes Ondik, Oconto Falls FFA; Paige Ruhland, Sauk Prairie FFA; and Antonio Sime, Holmen FFA.

Fifteen Wisconsin musicians will perform during convocations throughout the convention as members of the National FFA Band and Chorus.

Selected for the National FFA Band are Erica Ballmer, Clinton FFA; Britni Cohen-Wichner, Stoughton FFA; Gretchen Klefstad, Prairie Farm FFA; Samantha Knudson, Melrose-Mindoro FFA; Allison Nohre, DePere FFA; Ross Ruehmann, Cochrane-Fountain City FFA; Brianna Schwartz, Southern Door FFA; Alec Zastrow, Wittenberg-Birnamwood FFA; and Kelsey Zettler, Athens FFA.

Selected for the National FFA Chorus are Kasey Burg, Chilton FFA; Jaron Frederick, Platteville FFA; Jessica Kravik, Cambridge FFA; Jacob Stukenberg, Shullsburg FFA; Seth Westenberg, Watertown FFA; and Sawyer Wirkus, Mosinee FFA.

FFA chapters will be recognized for their work in achieving chapter goals.

Loyal FFA is a National Model of Innovation finalist in chapter development, and Stanley-Boyd FFA is a national finalist in community development.

The following chapters received a three-star rating: Adams-Friendship FFA, Amery, Badger, Big Foot, Black Hawk, Cochrane-Fountain City, DePere, Freedom, Hustisford, Lodi, Loyal, Manawa, Monticello, Neillsville, Prairie Farm, Sauk Prairie, Spencer, Stanley-Boyd, Stevens Point, Waupaca, Waupun, Weyauwega-Fremont and Wisconsin Heights FFA.

Thorp FFA and Tomah FFA received two-star ratings in the National Chapter Awards competition.

Lori Berget, Bill Bruins and Frank Friar have been selected to receive Honorary American Degrees.

Waupaca FFA will serve as the National FFA Hall of States Chapter Representative.

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Page Tools